

# Saginaw County Chamber of Commerce Spirit of Saginaw Award

- presented at the Community Leadership Awards Luncheon -
- The award will not necessarily be an annual award nor be necessarily limited to one person. In some
  cases, several persons could win if all are deemed to best exemplify the Spirit of Saginaw by the selection
  committee. Accordingly, no one should win if the committee does not feel an exemplary volunteer has
  been nominated.
- 2. The award will go to an individual, not a firm or organization.
- 3. The award is for service volunteered to improve the quality of life and/or economic climate of Saginaw County during the **previous 18 months only**.
- 4. Quality of Life can include such activities as those involving:
  - education/schools
  - recreation/leisure
  - government
  - image of the area
  - community service
  - culture/history
  - entertainment
  - aesthetics of the area
  - crime prevention
  - general volunteerism

Economic Development can include such activities as those involving:

- job creation
- job retention
- procuring new business or contacts from outside the Saginaw area
- business expansion and growth
- 5. Nominees are not required to be members of the Saginaw County Chamber of Commerce or business community.

# **SPIRIT OF SAGINAW AWARD RECIPIENTS**

1987	Al Loveless, Mark McCabe		
1988	Danny Dambro		
1989	John Krafft		
1990	Wibur Hoffman		
1991	Jeffrey Clevenger, Dave Wierman		
1992	Robert Vitito		
1993	John Nagy		
1994	Eugene Hamilton		
1995	Culli Damuth, Joyce Parker, Lawrence Sims		
1996	Norman Braddock, Herbert Spence, Jr.		
1997	Lloyd Fairbanks		
1998	James Van Tiflin, Gerald Willis		
1999	Frederic L. Fraizer, Dr. Eric R. Gilbertson,		
	David M. Hall, Sister Dinah White, D.C.		
2000	Elmer Ganschow, Martha Ann Joseph		
2001	Paul Chaffee, Robert Fish		
2002	Dick Garber, George Olson, Ric Rehmann		
2003	Dr. Craig Douglas		
2004	Dr. Samuel H. Shaheen, Ken Ehline		
2005	Rick Sutton		
2006	Larry Preston, Robert & Arlene Maul		
2007	Jimmy Greene		
2008	Dr. Sam J. Shaheen		
2009	Art Lewis		
2010	Marcia & Allen Rabideau, Ellen Crane		
2011	Vicky Schmitzer & Randy Bierlein		
2012	Ron Schauman		
2013	Dr. Robert Sonntag, William Smith and R.C. Crannell		
2014	Craig Goslin		
2015	Michael J. Hanley		
2016	Laura Yockey		
2017	LaMarr Woodley		
2018	Dean Emerson		
2019	Tom Braley		
2020	Cancelled: COVID-19 Pandemic		
2021	Evelyn McGovern		
2022	Ken LeCureux and Pharrington Douglas		
2023	Larry Brethauer		



#### **SPIRIT OF SAGINAW AWARD**

**Nomination Form** 

#### Nominee

Name:			
Company:			
Address:			
City:			
Phone:	Email:		
	Nominator		
Name:			
Company:			
Address:			
City:		State:	_ ZIP:
Phone:	Email:		

## About the Nominee:

On a separate sheet, please answer the following questions. Attach support documentation or additional information as needed:

- 1. Describe the event(s) or activity the nominee was involved in during the past 18 months that led to this nomination. Please be specific as to actual contribution/work involved.
- 2. Please list leadership positions, awards or recognition received by the nominee during the past 18 months that you deem relevant to the nomination.

### **Supporting Documents:**

Please contact 1-2 individuals to supply supporting documentation to accompany your nomination form. Support documents can take the form of letters, emails, news articles, etc.

**Submission:** Return completed nominations to: Lisa Dobbins, Saginaw County Chamber of Commerce 515 N. Washington Ave., 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor, Saginaw, MI 48607 or by email to lisa@saginawchamber.org

Deadline: April 30th

Nominations received after the deadline will be considered for the following year.